Enactus (SIFE); what I want to do with the rest of my life.

Amazing, incredible, inspiring; I don’t think there are enough words to describe how great the impact of attending the World Cup in Washington DC was on me.

I hardly know where to start this post, there is so much to say. But perhaps, I will start with Alvin Rohrs, the CEO of Enactus, and the rebranding of SIFE to Enactus.

It’s hard to sum up in words, but the idea and spirit of SIFE/Enactus is about tapping into the entrepreneurial spirit to drive social change and serve the global community. It’s about creating sustainable projects that continue their impact long after the volunteer students have taken their hands off the project. It’s helping people by empowering them to help themselves. It’s amazing.

Listening to all the speeches, especially Alvin’s, about why SIFE was started, what it has become, the necessity of rebranding to continue the worldwide expansion of Enactus, I was struck with the overwhelming feeling that this is what I want to do with the rest of my life.
I thought, “so this is why I chose a commerce degree over an arts degree.”
It was so moving to hear about all the amazing things that can be achieved through the power of business and simple financial literacy. It just makes so much more sense to me than advocacy and fundraising, not that those aren’t also important for awareness and gathering resources. I just feel like actually teaching someone to run a business, or creating a business than can employ disadvantaged groups but still be competitive in the wider market and therefore self-sustaining, has a much more lasting impact than charity work.
I met so many amazing people from all over the world, who are creating, researching and implementing incredibly innovative and powerful ideas. It was inspiring to talk these people, and realise that everyone has potential to make a change in this world.
On my last day of class, my year 12 economics teacher signed my jumper with “change the world.” At the time I scarcely believed it possible, and hardly knew how I would go about it even if I was somehow capable. The energy and enthusiasm at the World Cup really made me realise how much potential for change is out there and honestly, I can hardly contain my excitement.

http://enactus.org/who-we-are/our-story/

Leave a Reply

