On my way to exams…

So, I start my exams on Thursday. I’m severely lacking motivation for studying though. There’s so many other things I want to be doing, but I thought I’d write a list and hopefully get back to studying:

book my driving test
– start collecting christmas addresses, I want to do something special for my friends this year.
– finish my application essay and subject selection for exchange to Waseda University next year!
– plan a movie date for next week with my best friend
– apply for a section editor position with the newly starting university foreign affairs publication, The Melbourne Globalist. (Oh god, why’d I go and write it down.)
– figure out whether I want to/how I will drop my finance major for a management major (I’m leaning towards YES! But I want some more time to properly consider it.)

Actually, I’m not lacking in motivation so much as stressing myself out over whether I should apply for the editor position or not. I feel like I don’t even have a chance, i mean, what do I know about journalism or publications? But then, isn’t that the whole point of uni activities – to learn? I have a passion for writing, and I’m passionate about international affairs. I loved studying International Studies last year, and it’s one of the many things I really wish I could have fit into my commerce degree. There’s something so interesting about the interaction between countries, and the characters they embody on the world stage – actors which their people, culture and history have unwittingly created.

The fascinating thing about globalisation is that I don’t believe anyone person could truly understand it in its entirety. We can speculate on the rules and structures which govern international relations, be it zero-sum realism or multilateral idealism; but at the end of the day, it all comes down to individual people from different cultures interacting on a personal level and no one can really predict that – that’s the beauty of mankind.

It’s decided. I haven’t anything to lose, so I’m going to write up my application… as soon as I finish revising for exams. (Oh my, I’ve got a long two days ahead of me. Wish me luck!)

 

Leave a Reply

