A Warm Embrace

I find myself in the living room. A pair of familiar arms pick me up. I look around at the moving furniture. A pair of silent strangers lift up another armchair and I watch it walk out the door. I continue to watch as one by one, all the furniture trickles out of the house, leaving only the wooden coffee table in the middle of the empty room. I want to sit down at the table and draw another picture. I look out our front window, Mummy is standing on the footpath talking to one of the strangers in front of a big truck. She gets into her car and starts driving. The white truck follows.

“Daddy, why did they take all the chairs and where did Mummy go?” asked the little girl innocently.

I feel my father’s arms tighten around my small body.

Leave a Reply

