Belated New Zealand Post

Days until 40% Marketing Assignment is due: 3
Days until Principles of Marketing Exam: 13
Motivation to Study: 0

Instead of studying I’m going to finish off this post about my New Zealand trip. To be honest, I can’t really remember what I wanted to say with this post but I started it one or two days into my trip and I don’t feel like rewriting it in past tense so take a trip back in time to Saturday January 26th:

So I’m in New Zealand! Taupo to be exact. It’s beautiful here, but really just feels like another state of Australia (apologies to any readers from NZ). I’ve got a bit of time this morning to blog before everyone else wakes up for another day of adventure so here it goes.

I’ve been travelling with 2 other people from my case comp team plus one of their girlfriends. We drove (I slept) four hours down from Auckland yesterday and went kayaking for the first time down Waikato river and we even had a chance to jump into a thermal spring which was heaps of fun! πŸ™‚ We hopefully might be going parasailing today which should be heaps of fun. It’s a shame a forgot to charge my camera battery because now I can’t upload any photos 😦

In other news, I really enjoyed last week’s issue of Time Magazine. Two of my favourite quotes:

On the challenges Obama faces reforming gun laws:
…and the republican house is so dysfunctional that it can’t even pass its own bills, let alone one written by the White House.

On the interior environmental system of the new $65 million Gulfstream G650 business jet:
JET LAG IS FOR PLEBS

It’s always a struggle to keep up with The Economist and Time Magazine each week, but I do love a good read with witty commentary and political insights.

Other things that are happening:
I’m beginning to realise that not getting along with people is really a two way street and it’s really not so much always my fault, or rather there’s only so much one can do alone (I do realise that is somewhat corny). Having spent the last two days with my case comp team, I’m starting to understand their characters a little more and it’s been a bit of a relief to see these people as flawed as well. It’s a little frustrating that we were all kinda thrown in together to work under such pressure from the beginning without any knowledge of each other’s temperaments but I guess it’s better late than never. (or better nate than lever, if you’ve heard the joke!)

Back to the present, I can’t quite remember where I was going with the end of that post but I’ll try and make it up as I go along.

The next day I went white water rafting in Rotorua which was heaps and heaps of fun, though I did embarrass myself my falling out of the raft as we went over a waterfall. Definitely recommend going rafting though if anyone is ever in New Zealand. I also love the countryside over in NZ. It’s that little bit greener than what we’ve got in Australia and there are sheep and cows everywhere. I also saw alpaca, donkeys and deer. That was super exciting.

Moving on to Auckland and case competition, I really can’t find the words to express what an experience it was. I learnt so much during the three preliminary cases and rediscovered why I found management consulting interesting in the first place since I was starting to tire of it from all the training we’d been doing prior to going over to NZ. The activities and social events were incredible fun, and so smoothly run despite the committee being entirely made up of students. I thought that attending Enactus World Cup was the experience of a lifetime for all the people and friendships I was able to make, but how can it compare to sharing an entire week of my life with a group of amazingly talented people from all over the world and having the chance to talk to each and every one of them.

And it’s now that I find myself wondering how the hell am I so lucky?Β 
I’ve always felt growing up that despite my parent’s divorce I have been incredibly fortunate. I’ve been fortunate to have the friends that I do, friends who ground me and kept me sane throughout my years of teenage angst. I’m so lucky to have two amazing sisters who I love more than anything else and have always been a familiar comfort in a changing world. I’m glad my step mother is the complete opposite of Cinderella’s and my dad will have company in old age. I’m grateful my mother chose to stay in Melbourne while I was growing up and for all the well intentioned, if occasionally misguided things she does for me. I’m thankful for the wonderful high school experience I was able to have at Mac.Rob, for having met teachers who have shaped my life path, and the friends with whom I shared the seemingly life changing ordeal of VCE with. Lastly, I’m quietly glad that I didn’t move to Japan and ended up at Melbourne University because I can hardly think of anything which can compare to the amazing opportunities which have been given to me in such a short time at university.

That’s all from my ordinary life. I best start on my marketing assignment now. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

 

2 comments

  1. An amazing blog!!

    1. Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

