Future Posts & Current Ramblings

I’m feeling a little delirious tonight. It’s been a long week and I’ve got a weekend of assignments to get through starting tomorrow but I thought I’d write a little something.

I bought myself my first ever Moleskine earlier this week. So excited to fill it with random thoughts and poor attempts at poetry! I also noticed I have a few posts sitting in my drafts and on random scraps of paper which i might just describe here so I commit to them.

Earlier this week, I watched Dan Pallotta’s Tedtalk: The way we think about charity is dead wrong. It was really quite an interesting watch. I’m not sure I can agree with absolutely everything he says but he raises some really good points about our attitudes towards the not for profit sector. I’m hoping to blog about it sometime after the weekend so look forward to my take on charity, not for profits and self interested motivations for volunteering!

I’m also considering writing a little about my views on religion and spirituality which I touched on previously in my post Karma, Justice and Cake. I’ve largely avoided the topic due to its controversial nature and also because of how personal my own experiences with religion have been. Having said that, religion or at least the concept of religion has played a large role in my life and I did start this blog to share my life so it seems only proper that I bore the internet with my two cents.

Lastly, recently I’ve been coming across a lot of articles about the perceived unfairness of welfare systems, and of course bailouts. Taxes and income redistribution are incredibly controversial in our meritocratic societies so it should make for an interesting rant. Personally, I’m of the belief that in most cases the system or “greater good” is worth more than perceived injustices; though note the use of the word perceived.

All of this will have to wait until after the weekend though. I have vac work applications to complete and assignments to finish unfortunately. I can hardly believe it’s already 3 weeks into semester! Here’s a little boring ramble about my subjects:

Management subjects are going relatively well which bodes well for my decision to switch to a management major over finance. I’m finding Organisational Behaviour really interesting at the moment, mostly because I can see how a lot of the theories relate to my past experiences in teams.

I am however a little frustrated at the inaccuracies that have been cropping up when discussing the economics of the Asian Financial Crisis during my Business in Asia classes. My tutor described austerity as a neoliberal policy which aims to cut government spending and greatly increase taxes. He then also proceeded later in the tutorial to explain the benefits of waiting for the Thai Baht to depreciate against itself before investing in Thailand and ignore our classes attempts to clarify that a currency cannot depreciate against itself. I am beginning to see why the other majors don’t take marketing and management seriously. D:

Equally, accounting is shaping up to be quite interesting and hopefully useful for my pursuit of a career in management consulting.

But Micro? why? Everything I’ve heard about the lecturer being really terrible seems to be true so far. It’s quite hard to focus and I’ll probably have to start self-learning out of the textbook which really isn’t ideal. Boo.

In other news, induction for new members of Enactus is happening tomorrow! So excited to meet all the new faces after a rather hectic week of interviews. I’m also seeing Amélie with an old friend of my next Wednesday at the Rooftop Cinema! And this just in: I’m going to see Ovo by Cirque du Soleil next Friday afternoon as well now! yayay! I’m sure Easter Break will be great as well. A lot of studying but hopefully some catching up with friends and things too.

That’s all from my ordinary life tonight. Thanks for reading!

Aside: I love finding out my real life friends read my blog. Here I am trying to look into the depths of my soul and “bam!” the internet turns it into a party. I never know quite how to react but I guess it’s all part of the awkward journey of “self-discovery” or whatever it is I’m hoping to find by telling the internet about my mundane days. 

Leave a Reply

