Unexpected Sunshine

I know it’s been a while and I do have a New Zealand post drafted but this morning I feel like rambling a little bit. 

About half a year ago I wrote the post Sunshine Storing. It was just a little thought about the unexpected happenings of life – the good happenings. I’d wondered if perhaps life stores up little moments of happiness when you’ve got more than you can enjoy, so that it might surprise you later when you really need it. Maybe that’s not really the way things work, and maybe I’m just lucky but lately I’ve been reminded to keep smiling.

笑っているから、いいことがある

I’m feeling crazy overwhelmed with summer school work and other summer commitments now that I’m back home from Auckland but I think I just need to start somewhere and get on with doing some work. My stepsister is moving interstate tomorrow which I’m still struggling to process. We’ve never been incredibly close but it’s a strange feeling to have someone who’s been sleeping in the room next door for the last 7 years pack up and leave. Hopefully I’ll be able to go and visit her during semester break, and maybe distance will make me appreciate her a little more.

Auckland turned out to be an amazing experience; I made new friends and met amazing people from all over the world, and my team even managed to unexpectedly win one of the preliminary rounds. Despite the journey being a rough one, in the end I’m incredibly glad that I was able to share the experience with my case team. I realised while over there that nothing in particular was wrong, but instead we hadn’t quite relaxed into ourselves as a team yet. In hindsight, it makes all the bubbling insecurities and doubts I had over summer seem a little silly but I guess that’s the beauty and the curse of hindsight – it makes you much harsher on yourself than you otherwise would be.

That’s all from my ordinary life. Thanks for reading 🙂

[Also thank you to everyone who has sent me a message lately telling me that you read my blog, it really means a lot.]

Leave a Reply

